Leadership & governance

Corporate governance

Hume Bank Ltd is an Authorised Deposit-Taking Institution (ADI) supervised by the Australian Prudential Regulation Authority (APRA) under the Banking Act 1959. Hume Bank is also supervised by the Australian Securities and Investments Commission (ASIC), Australian Transaction & Reports Analysis Centre (AUSTRAC) and other government agencies.

Our corporate governance framework has been developed to support customer focused operations, while also providing clear guidance on how authority is exercised across the organisation. The Board, with the assistance of the Audit and Remuneration and Succession Committees, determines the most appropriate corporate governance practices. Furthermore, Board delegations and board/committee charters are regularly reviewed.

Want more info on how we’re governed?

We’ve got you covered with quick and easy links to both the Hume Bank Constitution and our dedicated Whistleblower Policy.

Company directors

Kerry Grigg

Chair, Non-executive director
B Com, M Com (Marketing) (Hons), PhD, GAICD

Kerry was appointed to the Board in July 2017, and has been Chair since November 2023. She is currently a member of the Remuneration and Succession Committee and Audit Committee. Kerry has deep expertise in human resource management and organisational development, with broad business acumen gained through the variety of roles and geographies she has worked across.

Michael Gobel

Non-executive director
B Sc, MAppFin, GAICD

Michael joined the Board in 2012. He is an experienced equity funds manager and has provided strategic financial advice to the private business sector, major domestic and international investment funds, government agencies, and financial institutions. Michael also plays an active role in north east Victoria regional development, having been on a range of advisory committees.

Kent Griffin

Non-executive director
FIAA, B Economics (Actuarial Studies), GAICD

Kent joined the Board in November 2018, is Chair of the Risk Committee and a member of the Audit Committee. He brings corporate leadership and consulting experience from his time working in the financial services sector across Australia, Europe and Asia. Kent is also involved in the community, most notably as a member of the Country Fire Authority Board.

Paul McGill

Non-executive director

Paul has been a Director of Hume Bank since 2016 and is currently a member of both the Remuneration and Succession and Audit Committee. He brings over 30 years of diverse experience in leadership and consulting across geographies and sectors including corporate and business strategy, business and operational transformation and governance.

Dagmar Neumann

Non-executive director
Equiv B Science, GAICD

Dagmar was appointed to the Board in 2022 and is a member of the Risk and Audit Committee. She is a leader in international business technology with C-suite experience across digital transformation and operational excellence. Dagmar is also a non-executive director of Youth Law Australia and councilor/non-executive director of the NSW Bridge Association.

Tina Wyer

Non-executive director
Chartered Accountant, GAICD

Tina was appointed to the board in 2022. She is currently Chair of the Audit Committee and is also a member of the Risk Committee. She has nearly 25 years of experience in the financial services industry, working across the US, Singapore and Australia to drive major change and transformation agendas across both business and technology. Tina is also the founder of Unbeatable You, which supports next-gen leaders and the sustainability of our beautiful planet.

Patricia Montague

Non-executive director
B Arts (Pure Math & Economics), Dip. Marketing, GAICD, GAIST

Patricia was appointed to the Board in 2023. She is currently Chair of the Remuneration and Succession Committee and is also a member of the Risk Committee. She has over 30 years‘ senior management experience in financial services, with significant depth in retail and business banking. Patricia brings transformational leadership, risk governance and commercial acumen gained from working in ASX100 companies. Her affinity with regional and local communities means she understands the importance local banking plays in serving the needs of the community. Patricia is also the Chair of TRM, Trustee Board for Russell Investments Superannuation Fund.

Leadership team

Stephen Capello

Chief Executive Officer
MBA, FCPA, B Business (Commerce), GAICD

Stephen joined Hume Bank in June 2018, bringing with him over 20 years of experience in financial, technical and business management capabilities. As Hume Bank’s CEO Stephen brings a balanced approach to leadership that bridges strategic vision and on-the-ground guidance, always with the focus of identifying and capitalising on opportunities to create and protect value.


Akbar Shah

Chief Financial Officer
MBA, MAppFin, BCom, BEc

Akbar joined Hume Bank in 2021 with close to 20 years’ experience spanning corporate strategy, treasury and financial management, capital markets, and corporate/institutional banking. Akbar leads our Finance, Treasury and Banking Operations functions.


Jason Woolhouse

Chief Innovation Officer
B Sc

Jason joined Hume Bank in 2014 and has over 20 years’ experience in financial services and the banking industry. Accountable for the bank’s Transformation, Data Analytics and Product functions, Jason navigates the business through change, creating relevant, sustainable and innovative solutions.


Kristy Campbell

Chief People Officer
BA Arts (HR and Media Studies), Adv. Dip. Management

Kristy joined Hume Bank in 2018. She is a people leader with over 20 years’ experience in Human Resources, Change and Operations. In her role, Kristy is responsible for sponsoring our employee experience, including culture, safety, learning, talent, and facilities.


Alison Wild

Chief Customer Officer
B Bus, Grad Dip Banking & Finance

Alison joined Hume Bank in 2021, bringing with her over 25 years of experience in marketing, brand, strategy and customer experience for large, complex organisations. Driven by a passion for all things customer, Alison is responsible for our customer experience, marketing and community impact teams.


Warren Nugara

Chief Technology Officer
B Business (Accounting, Electronic Business)

Warren joined Hume Bank in 2021 to lead the Information Technology function. A seasoned technology executive, he has over 20 years of global experience in banking and finance. Warren takes pride in his history of building positive relationships and driving rapid, sustainable results through his ability to build, motivate and lead teams.


Natalie Jackson-Smith

Chief Risk Officer
Graduate Diploma – Law

Natalie joined Hume Bank in 2023, bringing over 25 years of global experience in Financial Services. A senior executive, Natalie’s expertise spans across Governance, Enterprise Risk, Compliance, Audit, Business Continuity and Third-Party Management. She is responsible for the bank’s Risk Management, Financial Crimes and Collections programs.
A passionate leader, she is dedicated to identifying and developing great talent.


Our most recent annual reports

As a customer-owned bank, we believe in a brighter future. Where our position in the community is one of trust and relevance. Where our impact is intertwined with our purpose. And where we are driven to create a better life for our customers, and to better support for our communities to flourish.

Join us on the path to a brighter future – for our customers and our communities.